Disease Control Area Map

New Zealand is divided into a number of disease control areas. Each have different TB testing frequencies and movement control measures depending on the risk of TB being transferred from infected wildlife (mainly possums) to cattle and deer.

The current disease control areas are valid from 1 March 2019 to 28 February 2020.  


  • Movement control area (MCA)

    Pre-movement testing Yearly testing
  • Special testing area - Annual

    Yearly testing
  • Special testing area - Biennial

    Two-yearly testing
  • Surveillance area

    Three-yearly testing
  • Offshore